The Bezos Scholars Program is proud to announce the 2016 Scholars

Founded by the Bezos Family Foundation in 2005, the Bezos Scholars Program selects 30 top high school students and exceptional educators each year from across the U.S. and the African Leadership Academy to participate in a year-long leadership development program, including an all-expenses-paid trip to the Aspen Ideas Festival. After attending the Festival, the Scholars return home to organize their own community change programs, known as Local Ideas Festivals (LIFs). 


Anna Schumacher and Karin Fritz-Staley

Detroit Lakes High School: Detroit Lakes, MN

Michael Mireles and Marcos Silva

IDEA Quest College Preparatory High School: McAllen, TX

Yabundu Conteh and Teng Yang

Democracy Prep Charter High School: New York, NY

Faris Qubain and Molly Diallo

Alonzo and Tracy Mourning Senior High School: Miami, FL

Casey Chaffin and John Divelbiss

West Salem High School: Salem, OR 

Peter Yang and Dan Maloney

James Madison High School: Madison, WI

Debora Gonzalez and Jeff Dearing

School for Advanced Studies: Wolfson Campus: Miami, FL

Shubham Pai and Jill McNulty

The Connecticut IB Academy: East Hartford, CT

Ana Acevedo and Camille Edwards-Thomas

New Rochelle High School: New Rochelle, NY

Jacob Urbina and Cody Mitchell

Elkhart High School: Elkhart, TX

Tonaysia Price and Okemia June

Northwest School for the Arts: Charlotte, NC

Cole Robbins and Erica Bauer

Walter Payton College Preparatory High School: Chicago, IL


Bezos Scholars from the African Leadership Academy (ALA)

Josphat Lowoi

Koibatek, Kenya

Marubini Muswede

Limpopo, South Africa

Joel Baraka

Entebbe, Uganda

Andreia Marcelo

Beira, Mozambique

Smangaliso Mbili

Johannesburg, South Africa

Melissa Mbazo
Educator Scholar

Harare, Zimbabwe



Meet Our Bezos Scholars from Previous Years